Reviews - SportRack Frontier Bare Roof Rack - Configure

Overall Rating: 4.7 stars 4.7 stars - 15 reviews
5 stars 5 stars - Good product. Would recommend to others
Written by , on 10/14/2016

Use to carry cartop cargo box.


3 stars 3 stars - Good quality rack- just be prepared
Written by , on 9/12/2016

Bought this for my daughters Prius. Fine rack- she will use it to move out to MI with her stuff- but be prepared to spend 3-4 hours trying to figure it out. Directions were poor- some screws missing, actual rods didn't seem like the right length. Thank goodness I have a handy brother who made it work. I'm not sure I'd really trust it though. Time will tell. Had it on only a month. Moved once. Fine price- maybe that's why. Get what you pay for?


5 stars 5 stars - Sportrack
Written by , on 6/30/2016

I bought this for my Honda Fit. My husband I installed it easily together. The quality of the parts and the ease of the installation are essential for me.


5 stars 5 stars - Great rack at a reasonable price!
Written by , on 5/31/2016

Outstanding rack! Directions excluded my car, '12 Ford Focus Hatchback, but was able to fit my car with some thought. I think it can fit MOST cars.


5 stars 5 stars - Must have!!!
Written by , on 3/24/2016

I use these to haul my kayaks...great product and very durable


5 stars 5 stars - Look Really Nice!
Written by , on 9/19/2015

I purchased the Sport Rack to use for those times our 2014 Ford Focus Hatchback just doesn't have the room to carry our luggage and other items. Installation was quite easy and seems a perfect fit. The racks look very nice on our car. I have not yet had the opportunity to actually put anything on top of the racks, but from the looks of them, they seem stout enough that they will carry big loa


4 stars 4 stars - 2008prius roofrack. good price and perf.
Written by , on 2/9/2015

It was a bit hard to install, but I got it very secure. The directions are pretty clear, I just kept doubting them and myself. But it held my skis at high speed and is still very sturdy.


5 stars 5 stars - Great Roof Rack
Written by , on 9/25/2014

Great roof rack. When used with a Hyundai Elantra the window seal causes a bit of noise. That's the car's fault, not the roof rack.


5 stars 5 stars - Great purchase
Written by , on 7/30/2014

It is easy to setup/use. The rack really worked as planned. The only change I would make would be to use a faring to cut back on noise and wind resistance. I am happy with this purchase.


5 stars 5 stars - Does what I paid for it to do,...
Written by , on 5/6/2014

I use this rack to tie down my 16' squareback family sized canoe. On my 1998 Dodge Caravan SE mini sportvan.. does the job as intended.


4 stars 4 stars - affordable basic rack
Written by , on 4/11/2014

It was nice to find a complete kit at an affordable price. Although it doesn't have the factory fit/finish...it was ~$350 less expensive.


5 stars 5 stars - 2004 Grand Prix roof rack for kayak
Written by , on 3/31/2014

Instructions are very generic. Don't trust dimensions provided. Be patient and trail fit before tightening.


5 stars 5 stars - Great Roof Rack
Written by , on 3/31/2014

Got this roof rack for my CRV because it was much better priced than a Thule or Yakima. It fits great, adjustable, would fit any vehicle of similar size. It seems well made so far (3 months) and has worked great to haul skis.


5 stars 5 stars - Works well but do take time adjusting
Written by , on 9/4/2013

Maybe I'm just slow, but it took me a while to figure out how to change the various angles to make it fit just right. But it does fit, and putting it on is now easy. Worked fine holding small sailboat on Honda Accord. Of course I've got some serious straps around everything just in case. I did look at the cheap Walmart version--it looks quite flimsy by comparison.


4 stars 4 stars - Great rack for the price!
Written by , on 8/16/2013

Overall it seems to be a great rack, especially considering it costs half as much as some of the bigger name brand racks. This one fits a number of vehicles, including my 2006 VW Jetta and 2013 Hyundai Elantra, which is nice because I can switch it between my vehicles as opposed to buying a second one. I attached a huge Tule roof box with no issues, and after around 10,000 miles (just returned from a long road trip), I haven't noticed any issues. The issues I do have with it are as follows: -The lock caps are plastic and contain a metal piece that twists and once twisted, does not fit back through the hole in the rack body, thereby locking the rack and preventing it from being removed from the car. A crowbar, or possibly even a sturdy screwdriver, could be wedged between the rack and the lock cap and then used to break it off. Of course the same could probably be said for most/all racks. -The clips that hold the cross bar in place dig relatively deep into the metal, which would be a problem if you did need to move it between multiple vehicles, and makes me question the strength of the metal. Then again, it is holding up bikes/boxes/snowboards/etc., not a structural support for a house, so I doubt it would ever be a problem. All other annoyances are insignificant and would be the same with any rack that fits vehicles without rain gutters or factory installed rails. That being said, I am very happy with my purchase. If the Tule rack were the same price, I'd go with that one obviously, but at half the price, this one is a great deal and I doubt I will ever have any need to replace it. It's a quality product in my opinion, assuming its cheaper than bigger name brands.

Search
View Cart.View Cart
menu close menu